WhatsApp is working on a new feature that will stop users from taking screenshots of “View Once” messages. The feature is currently being tested in the beta version of the app and it is not clear when it will be rolled out to all users.
This feature will be included in the next WhatsApp update, which will block screenshots of certain messages upon deletion.
WhatsApp Block Screenshot New Privacy Features Revealed [Announcement Confirmed]
WhatsApp now blocks screenshots of some messages with new privacy features from recent announcements. This made significant efforts to improve privacy, but what about user experience? Screenshots are a basic requirement in modern digital devices, so what’s the catch?
In our reports, WhatsApp announced that they are planning to release an update for privacy and to improve the messaging service with a few new changes. It also adds the ability to delete messages after they’ve been sent, and they now block screenshots of images, text, and more.
Before this, WhatsApp had private conversations encryption, which encrypts end-to-end user conversations and is considered the app’s default setting to keep all messages and data secure, allowing users to communicate freely with their recipients.
Now WhatsApp’s new security feature of blocking screenshots adds an extra layer of security. We’ll have to wait and see if these new features improve privacy even more or make it worse. However, for the majority of users, the addition of screenshot blocking for WhatsApp messages is perhaps the most significant and exciting change, as no one will capture and record what they have been messaging about, Huh!
Announced New WhatsApp Features [The New Features]
Major Feature One: No more Screenshots of Sensitive Contents
View Once messages are temporary images that make it impossible for the recipient to view the image again. Now WhatsApp, screenshot blocking will black out an attempt to screenshot and instead displays the message “Screenshot was blocked for added privacy.” This is a huge feature for users because View Once messages serve no purpose if others can simply screenshot the photo and view it as many times as they want.
Feature Two: WhatsApp Feature Leave Group Chat without a Trace
Aside from the focused security feature, other new features for the upcoming WhatsApp update have included a new group chat policy. People can now leave group chats silently and control who can see their online status. This feature may eliminate the need for GB WhatsApp unless you want a little more freedom in your chat.
All these newly announced features including screengrab restrictions will be available to WhatsApp users in the United Kingdom before the end of August, while the rest of the world receiving an update shortly thereafter.
Feature Three: WhatsApp Feature Delete Messages
Additionally, WhatsApp get its score in odds and announced the final change, which involves message deletion. Users can now delete a message after sending it. However, this is limited to two days and 12 hours (Source: WABetaInfo @Twitter).
Initially, users could delete messages only for themselves, leaving the message legible for the rest of the group or your recipient to delete or ignore. With the addition of this feature, users get control over their conversations, which means anyone can back up their words in a limited time to delete those messages for everyone.
Final Note: WhatsApp has not stated when these new features and privacy enhancements will be available. We don’t know if each new feature announced will be implemented in a single update or if it will be added in stages with individual updates for each feature.
You will indeed access these updates fairly soon. We’re mixed feelings about the new WhatsApp screenshot blocking feature on View Once messages, which we investigate further, soon.